American Library Association Committee on Organization Report to Council

Change the composition of the Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services Advisory Committee, as follows:

BACKGROUND:

Historically, the OLOS Advisory Committee has recommended actions to the OLOS and served in a consulting role on various literacy issues and projects. OLOS has now merged with OFD to form the Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services, which will encompass all services previously represented by the two separate offices. The OLOS Advisory Committee will become the Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services Advisory Committee and will recommend actions and serve in a consulting role on issues of both literacy and diversity.

The composition of the new Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services Advisory Committee will be made up of the merger of Diversity Council, a subcommittee of the Committee on Diversity (COD) and the OLOS Advisory Committee. Fifteen members of the Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services Advisory Committee will represent the following groups detailed below. Groups will select their own member representative with the exception of the three designated ex officio members.

Current Diversity Council representatives (7 members):

American Indian Library Association (AILA)

Asian Pacific Librarians Association (APALA)

Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA)

Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA)

REFORMA (the national association to promote library and information services to Latinos and the Spanish speaking)

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT)

Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA)

Current OLOS Advisory Committee representatives (7 members):

Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT)

Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT)

Sustainability Round Table (SustainRT)

Association of Bookmobile & Outreach Services (ABOS)

Association for Rural and Small Libraries (ARSL)

Committee on Literacy (COL)--Chair will serve (ex officio)

Rural, Native and Tribal Libraries of All Kinds (RNTLOAK) Committee Chair will serve (ex officio)

Committee on Diversity (COD) Chair (ex officio) (1 member)

An additional three members will be appointed by ALA President-Elect for a total of 18 members. All 18 members will have two-year staggered terms, with a chairperson appointed annually by the ALA President-elect.

During 2014-2015, a working group of the ALA Executive Board and ALISE (Association for Library & Information Science Education) met to respond to issues and concerns about the processes for and communication related to ALA accreditation of library and information studies (LIS) programs, as well as questions about the future direction of LIS education.

In June 2015, the ALA Executive Board, in consultation with ALISE, recommended referral to the ALA Committee on Organization of the two composition changes to the Committee on Accreditation, outlined in Executive Board Document #12.38 (2014-2015), as follows:

The ALA Committee on Accreditation is composed of 12 members appointed by the ALA president-elect. Of the 12 members, 10 are personal members of ALA appointed to represent educators – both deans/directors/chairs and faculty – and practitioners. Of those 10 members, one must be Canadian, recognizing that ALA COA accredits programs in both the U.S. and Canada. The remaining two COA members must be appointed from the public-at-large – and may not be members of the profession or members of ALA, to represent the public interest in accreditation.

The Task Force makes three additional recommendations related to the process of appointment and the composition of the committee:

That the composition of COA include a designation for one slot to be held by a Dean/Director/Chair of a library or information science program. This appointment will be handled in51o1(n)-4()6(o)-2(f)5(m7(n)-4(0015438-4(i)10(o)-2(n)-4-3(w)5(il4(d)-0.73547.42T