2015-2016 ALA Memorial #16_FINAL 2016 ALA Annual Conference

This resolution was adopted by the ALA Council on Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Resolution Honoring the Victims of the Pulse Nightclub Shootings

Whereas on June 12, 2016, 49 members of the GLBT community were murdered in Orlando at Pulse, a GLBT nightclub;

Whereas Pulse was hosting a Latin Night;

Whereas 90% of the victims were members of the Latinx community;

Whereas the 49 victims were individually Stanley Almodovar III Amanda Alvear Oscar A Aracena-Montero Rodolfo Ayala-Ayala Antonio Davon Brown Darryl Roman Burt II Angel L. Candelario-Padro Juan Chevez-Martinez Luis Daniel Conde Cory James Connell Tevin Eugene Crosby Deonka Deidra Drayton Simon Adrian Carrillo Fernandez Leroy Valentin Fernandez Mercedez Marisol Flores Peter O. Gonzalez-Cruz Juan Ramon Guerrero Paul Terrell Henry Frank Hernandez Miguel Angel Honorato

Resolution Honoring the Victims of the Pulse Nightclub Shootings/2

Whereas the 2016 American Library Association Annual Conference is taking place in Orlando; and

Whereas libraries are responsive and sensitive to the events that shape and effect the communities within which they are located, now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the American Library Association (ALA), on behalf of its members;

- 1. offers to the families and friends of the victims heartfelt condolences; and
- 2. extends its deepest wishes for a speedy recovery to those who were injured but survived this brutal attack.

Adopted by the Council of the American Library Association Tuesday, June 28, 2016, in Orlando, Florida

Keith Michael Fiels Executive Director and Secretary of the ALA Council