2014-2015 ALA Memorial #15_12715_act 2015 ALA Midwinter Meeting

This memorial resolution was adopted by the ALA Council on Tuesday, February 3, 2015

A Memorial Resolution Honoring Donald J. Sager

Whereas the American Library Association (ALA) and the broader library community lost a valued member and leader on January 1, 2015, with the death of Donald J. Sager;

Whereas he gave more than 40 years of professional commitment to public libraries and inspired many librarians throughout his career;

Whereas he served as Commissioner of the Chicago Public Library (1978-1981), City Librarian and Director of the Milwaukee Public Library (1983-1991) as well as director of the public libraries in Kingston NY, Elyria OH, Mobile AL, Columbus OH, and Elmhurst IL;

Whereas he was a member of Board of Trustees of the Urban Libraries Council;

Whereas he won numerous awards, including the including being on the 30^{th} Anniversary Freedom to Read Foundation Honor Roll;

Whereas he authored eight books and numerous publications, articles, reviews, and book chapters as well as serving as a contributing editor for *Public Libraries* for 10 years;

Whereas he also served the profession as president of Gossage Sager Associates, an executive recruitment firm specializing in library leadership positions as well as publisher and editor of Highsmith Press;

Whereas he served the American Library Association as president of the Public Library Association (1982-1983), Councilor-at-large, and member of both the Association for Library Trustees and Advocates (ALTA) and International Relations Round Table (IRRT);

Whereas he was the ALA Representative to the White House. Conference on Libraries and Information Science and chaired ALA Core Values Task Force;

Whereas he played an important role in the development of *Libraries: An American Value*, a set of principles adopted in 1999 by the American Library Association as a contract with the American public; and

Whereas in 2005 he was the recipient of one of the profession's highest honors, the ALA's Joseph W. Lippincott Award, which is presented annually to a librarian for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship; now, therefore, be it

A Memorial Resolution Honoring Donald J. Sager/2

Resolved, that the American Library Association (ALA) on behalf of its members,

- (1) honors Donald J. Sager for his many contributions to ALA, to the library profession, and to his fellow librarians; and
- (2) expresses its sincere sympathy to his family, friends, and colleagues.

Adopted by the Council of the American Library Association Tuesday, February 3, 2015, in Chicago, Illinois

Keith Michael Fiels

Executive Director and Secretary of the ALA Council

Send copies to:

Sarah Ann Long Executive Director Emerita, North Suburban Library System 351 Town Place Circle, # 309 Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 847 419 6985

Geoffrey Sager 10806 South 17th St Bellevue NE 68123 Geoffrey.Sager@anydrip.com

Andy Sager 1836 1235th Avenue Lincoln, IL 62656 sagerfamily@comcast.net